Marquette County Ambassadors

The Marquette County Ambassadors are a privately funded group of business, education, community and government leaders from across Marquette County. Our mission is to promote and foster economic vitality throughout Marquette County and the Upper Peninsula, to carry the story of the Marquette County area to others, and salute those who deserve recognition.

For over two decades the Marquette County Ambassadors have made an annual trip to Lansing to meet with legislators and state department personnel. The purpose of the trip is threefold: to inform our legislators of relevant issues affecting the Upper Peninsula, in particular, Marquette County, to hear their perspectives on activities related to the state government and to share with them our position on critical issues related to the Upper Peninsula.

The Ambassadors have researched and produced position papers in five major areas:

  • Economic Development
  • Education
  • Health Care
  • Tourism
  • Transportation

Many, if not all, of the issues raised or initiatives supported, are not specific to Marquette County, but rather the Upper Peninsula as a whole. Regional cooperation continues to play a vital role in the betterment of the Upper Peninsula and U.P. communities have a long history of working together. These White Papers set the direction for the group’s activities.

Karen Anderson J.M. Longyear LLC
Mike Angeli City of Marquette
Gar Atchison UP Health System
Dave Aro Superior Rehabilitation and Professional Services
Jesse Bell Bell Financial Services
Michele Butler Vangos
Amy Clickner LSCP
Craig Cuigin City of Ishpeming
Patricia Davis Kendricks, Bordeau, Keefe, Seavoy & Larson, P.C.
Roxanne Daust Range Bank
Bryan DeAugustine NICE Community Schools
Ania Ediger Cleveland-Cliffs Inc.
Tom Edmark Iron Range Agency
Sam Elder Elder Agency
Scott Erbisch Marquette County
Susan Estler Travel Marquette
Mike Fedrizzi Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
Brett French Upper Peninsula Power Co.
James Grundstrom Fox Motors- Marquette
Nate Heffron City of Negaunee
Deanna Hemmila Northern Michigan University
Melissa Holmquist UP Health Plan
Travis Hongisto Integrated Designs
Matt Johnson Eagle Mine – A subsidiary of Lundin Mining
Scott Knaffla Flourish Financial Partners – Ameriprise Financial Services, Inc.
Randy Larson Ramada Marquette
John Marshall Retired – LS&I RailRoad
Heather Mosher VAST
Keith Moyle Upper Peninsula Power Co.
Robert Raica UP Home Health Hospice
Tony Retaskie U.P. Construction Council
Rick Rhoades WLUC-TV6
Rebecca Salmon Marquette Downtown Development Authority
Jesse Schramm Checker Transport
Michelle Sellers River Valley Bank
Steven VandenAvond Northern Michigan University
Paul Wolfson Select Realty
Greg Zyburt Marquette County Sheriff

Want to get involved? Wondering what you can do?

Contact your local legislators!

U.S. Senate

Gary Peters

SRC-2 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington D.C. 20510-2202
Lansing Office: (517) 377-1508
Website – Contact
Debbie Stabenow
133 Hart Senate Building
Washington D.C. 20510
(202) 224-4822
U.P. Office: (906) 228-8756
Website – Email

U.S. House of Representatives

Jack Bergman
414 Cannon HOB
Washington, DC 20515

State Senate

Ed McBroom

Senate’s Binsfeld Office Building
Suite 7200
201 Townsend St.
P.O. Box 30036
Lansing, MI 48909-7840
Website – Email

Wayne Schmidt

820 Farnum Building
P.O. Box 30036
Lansing, MI 48909-7840

State House of Representatives


Sara Cambensy
S1488 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909-7514
(517) 373-0498
Greg Markkanen
S1489 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909-7514
(517) 373-0850
John Damoose
S-1486 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 373-2629
Beau LaFave
S-1487 House Office Building
P.O. Box 30014
Lansing, MI 48909
(517) 373-0156